Not any more

Canadian Music Matters for the Week of Feb 12th

In Canada, Montreal, Music, The CBC, YouTube on February 13, 2012 at 10:34

Just a tad…

I’m back!

In the news from the Grammy’s last night: With the somber cloud of Whitney Houston death, there was still time to celebrate some needed Canadian content.  28 year old singer Melanie Fiona won Grammys for Best Traditional R&B Performance and Best R&B Song for her collaboration with Cee Lo Green, Fool For You.  “I want to thank so many people for helping me get here and being a part of this amazing record. Thank you so much to my parents, my family (and) my friends back home in Toronto, Canada.”

Toronto singer Melanie Fiona accepts the award for traditional R&B performance  in Los Angeles.

Fiona on Whitney,

“Whitney Houston is the first voice and memory I have of music.  My mom used to play her for me to fall asleep in the crib. Hers was the first song I ever sang. She has been an inspiration to me throughout my entire career, for her presence as an artist, her voice, and what she was able to do and the way she made people feel.  I would not be up here as a nominee or as a winner without her influence and presence in my life, so it’s very emotional for me.”

Other Canadian content included Montreal’s Caroline Robert who won for best recording package for her design of the deluxe re-release of Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs. Arcade Fire’s disc won album of the year at last year’s Grammys.

Montreal was also represented by a performance from DJ Deadmau5.

 

Beyond this years Grammy’s there was a couple of CBC commercials that popped up on the old tv screen.  CBC Music is the new home base for all things music in Canada.  It looks like CBC Radio3 is all grown up.

A bit sad, but getting more music out to more Canadians is never a bad thing.  You can read the full piece at CBCMusic.ca but here’s a small piece from Steve Pratt

“Hi all, Steve Pratt here. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m the director of CBC Radio 3 and CBC Digital Music. I’d like to welcome you to the latest incarnation of CBC Radio 3 and the all-new site for CBC Music.

In a nutshell, CBC Music provides CBC Radio 2, and 12 genres of music (ClassicalJazzSinger-Songwriter,WorldRockPopBluesR&B/SoulHip-HopAboriginal,Country and Electronic), the ability to make their own communities in the same way all of you have helped make Radio 3 such a wonderful experience for anyone who loves independent Canadian music. In fact, without you and everything you’ve done to help guide Radio 3, this new website and new communities would not have been possible.

Since its inception more than a decade ago, Radio 3 has served as a living laboratory, where we’ve been able to try out new ideas.  Our goal has been to do the best job we can for Canadian music and its creators. Until now, however, the R3 web experience has only been available to fans of independent Canadian music.

With the launch of CBC Music, fans of all genres can have an experience with the music they love”

Leave a Reply

