Not any more

Breakout West • Awards

In Canada on August 11, 2010 at 09:33


Western Canadian Music Award 2010 Nominees

Aboriginal Recording of the Year

Eagle & Hawk – The Great Unknown – MB
Leela Gilday – Calling All Warriors – YT
Lost Priority – All That We Are – MB
Shane Yellowbird – It’s About Time – AB
Wayne Lavallee – Trail of Tears – B.C.

Blues Recording of the Year

Colin James – Rooftops and Satellites – B.C.
David Gogo – Different Views – B.C.
Jim Byrnes – My Walking Stick – B.C.
Rich Hope & His Evil Doers – Rich Hope Is Gonna Whip It On Ya – B.C.
The Jimmy Zee Band – Devil Take Me Down – B.C.

Children’s Recording of the Year

Duplex! – Worser – B.C.
Gogo Bonkers – Love the Land – B.C.
Norman Foote – Love My New Shirt – B.C.
Peter Puffin’s Whale Tales – Proud Like A Mountain – AB
The Kerplunks – Walk On – B.C.

Classical Composition of the Year

Elizabeth Raum – Prayer and Dance of Praise – AB
Jocelyn Morlock – Exaudi – B.C.
Malcolm Forsyth – Steps – AB
Sid Robinovitch – Adieu Babylon – MB
Stephen Chatman – Earth Songs – B.C.

Classical Recording of the Year

Fringe Percussion – Fringe Percussion – B.C.
Jeremy S. Brown – Rubbing Stone – AB
Mark Takeshi McGregor – Different Stones: Canadian Music for Multiple Flutes – B.C.
Musica Intima – Into Light – B.C.
University of British Columbia Singers – A Chatman Christmas – B.C.

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Recording of the Year

Amanda Falk – In Between the Now & Then – MB
Carolyn Arends – Love Was Here First – B.C.
FRESH IE – Inside – MB
Jon Buller – Light Up the Sky – B.C.
Sandon – Sonic Synthesis – SK

Country Recording of the Year

Doc Walker – Go – MB
Shane Chisholm – Hitchhiking Buddha – AB
Shane Yellowbird – It’s About Time – AB
Six West – Beautiful Something – B.C.
Whiskey Jane – Things Left Unsaid – B.C.

Francophone Recording of the Year

Ariane Mahrÿke Lemire – Décousue – AB
Geneviève Toupin – Geneviève Toupin – MB
LuLu et le Matou – Le dragon Gaston – MB
Madame Diva – Madame Diva – MB
Shawn Jobin – Le premier pas (The First Step) – SK
Will Stroet – Dans mon jardin – B.C.

Independent Album of the Year

Colin James – Rooftops and Satellites – B.C.
Corb Lund – Losin’ Lately Gambler – AB
Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice – B.C.
Dojo Workhorse – Weapons Grade Romantic – AB
Library Voices – Denim On Denim – SK

Instrumental Recording of the Year

Birds of Paradox – Birds of Paradox – B.C.
Ed Henderson – Intimate – B.C.
Hot Club Edmonton – Hot Club Edmonton – AB
Inhabitants – A Vacant Lot – B.C.
The Rakish Angles – The Rakish Angles – B.C.

Jazz Recording of the Year

John Hyde – John Hyde Quartet – AB
Karl Schwonik Quartet – Visions from the Farm –  AB
Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet – Melodia – AB
Sandro Dominelli  – The Alvo Sessions – AB
Will Bonness – Subtle Fire – MB

Pop Recording of the Year

Laurell – Can’t Stop Falling – B.C.
Maurice – Young People With Faces – B.C.
Michael Bernard Fitzgerald – The MBF Love LP – AB
Quinzy – Self-Defense – MB
The Latency – The Latency – B.C.

Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year

Cityreal – The Beginning – B.C.
Def 3 and Factor – Drumbo – SK
Grand Analog – Metropolis Is Burning – MB
The Lytics – The Lytics – MB

Rock Recording of the Year

Bif Naked – The Promise – B.C.
Said the Whale – Islands Disappear – B.C.
The Dudes – Blood Guts Bruises Cuts – AB
The Weakerthans  – Live at the Burton Cummings Theatre – MB
Yukon Blonde – Yukon Blonde – B.C.
You Say Party – XXXX – B.C.

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year

Annie Lou – Annie Lou – YT
Carolyn Mark & NQ Arbuckle – Let’s Just Stay Here – B.C.
Dustin Bentall – Six Shooter – B.C.
The Sojourners – The Sojourners – B.C.
The Wailin’ Jennys – Live at the Mauch Chunk Opera House – MB

Roots Solo Recording of the Year

Corb Lund – Losin’ Lately Gambler – AB
Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice – B.C.
Del Barber – Where the City Ends – MB
Gordie Tentrees – Mercy or Sin – YT
John Wort Hannam – Queen’s Hotel – AB

Songwriter of the Year

Colin James – B.C.
Corb Lund  – AB
Dan Mangan – B.C.
Doc Walker (Chris Thorsteinson, Dave Wasyliw, and Murray Pulver) – MB
Dustin Bentall – B.C.
The Weakerthans (John K Samson and The Weakerthans) – MB

Urban Recording of the Year

Ian Alleyne – Dying To Be Free – AB
Maiko  Watson – Sweet Vibration – MB
Politic Live/Mahogany Public – JALI Volume 1 – AB
Sonal – Lovely Day – AB
The Soulicitors – What you need – AB

World Recording of the Year

Alpha YaYa Diallo – Immé – B.C.
Bomba – Cuatro Caminos – AB
Casimiro Nhussi – Makonde – MB
George Koufogiannakis – Generations – Greek Oud Jazz – AB
Ivan Tucakov and Tambura Rasa – Tambura Rasa Beats – B.C.

Agency of the Year

Magnum Opus Management – YT
Paquin Entertainment – MB
SL Feldman & Associates – B.C.

Best Album Design of the Year

Brooke Nelson – Where the City Ends (Del Barber)
Craig Medwyduk (Guppy Design ) – In The Lonesome Hours (Oh My Darling)
Michael Carroll and Greg Smith – Live At The Burton Cummings Theatre (The Weakerthans)
Michelle Zieske – Washed Out Roads (Patrick Keenan)
Ron Sawchuk – Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera House (The Wailin’ Jennys)
Skylar Challand – Denim on Denim (Library Voices)

Engineer of the Year

Dean Maher – B.C.
Mike Petkau – MB
Paul Silveira – B.C.
Ryan Dahle – B.C.
Steve Dawson and Sheldon Zaharko – B.C.

Independent Record Label of the Year

Arbor Records – MB
Black Hen Music – B.C.
Mint Records – B.C.
On Ramp Records – SK
Stony Plain Records – AB

Live Music Venue of the Year

Biltmore Cabaret – B.C.
Starlite Room – AB
The Commodore Ballroom – B.C.
The Habitat – B.C.
West End Cultural Centre – MB

Manager of the Year

Bruce Allen – B.C.
Gilles Paquin – MB
Louis O’Reilly – SK
Stephen Carroll – MB
Vince R. Ditrich – B.C.

Multi Media

“AO” video by Greendale Productions (TV HEART ATTACK)
“Live At The West End” video by Low Budget Productions
“More Than A Man” video by Scatterheart (Scatterheart)
‘This Is It” video by Greg Gillespie (The Wheat Pool)
‘Tungijuq” video– Tanya Tagaq and Zacharias Kunuk (Tanya Tagaq)

Producer of the Year

Ben Kaplan – B.C.
Dale Penner – MB
Gordie Johnson – AB
Ryan Dahle – B.C.
Vince R. Ditrich – B.C.

Talent Buyer of the Year

Alex Grigg and Robyn Stewart – B.C.
Brent Oliver – AB
Chris Frayer – MB
Erik Hoffman – B.C.
Harvey Cohen – AB

Click here to download a PDF version of the nominee list.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: